• Committee for the Prevention of Torture

    <p>Human Rights Building, Council of Europe, <p> F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex, France

    France: 03 88 41 39 39, Int.: +33 3 88 41 39 39

    France: 03 88 41 27 72, Int.: +33 3 88 41 27 72


    "The Committee shall, by means of visits, examine the treatment of persons deprived of their liberty with a view to strengthening, if necessary, the protection of such persons from torture and from inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment."<br> (Source: Article 1 of the European Convention for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment)<p> The CPT's members are independent and impartial experts from a variety of backgrounds. They are for example lawyers, medical doctors and specialists in prison or police matters. They are elected for a four-year term by the Committee of Ministers, the Council of Europe's decision-making body, and can be re-elected twice. One member is elected in respect of each Contracting State.<p>